10) Vince McMahon (Royal Rumble 1999):
– Vince McMahon is the chairman and CEO of WWF/WWE. No one would have ever guessed that “The Boss” would become a number one contender for a championship at WrestleMania. What made his Royal Rumble win special is that he became the first man in history to voluntarily vacant his spot to compete for the WWF championship. His decision was allowing a runner-up to take on the WWF champion at WrestleMania. Who was the champion around this time? “The Most Electrifying Man in Sports Entertainment” The Rock. The Rock was a corporate champion, representing Vince McMahon. On the road to WrestleMania, “Stone Cold” Steve Austin wanted his hands on the chairman one more time before taking on The Rock. The match would take place inside a steel cage match at St. Valentine’s Day Massacre. This was the event where Paul Wight aka The Big Show made his WWF debut. A fun fact about WrestleMania XV between Stone Cold & The Rock, this was the first of three WrestleMania matches that these two would have in the next several years to come. Arguably the greatest rivalry known to the Attitude Era.

9) “Hacksaw” Jim Duggan (Royal Rumble 1988):
– Jim Duggan won the very first Royal Rumble match held at the Copps Coliseum in Hamilton, Ontario. The final two men were Jim Duggan and One Man Gang. Bret Hart was entrant number one at this event. He will always be remembered as the first man to ever compete in the Royal Rumble match. One thing to always remember, winning the Royal Rumble doesn’t always guarantee you a shot at the WWF championship. Unfortunately for “Hacksaw”, he never won a WWF championship in his career. The aftermath of Royal Rumble 1988 lead to Andre the Giant becoming the shortest WWF champion in history. The reason why is because after crossing paths with Hulk Hogan at The Main Event, Andre went off to selling his championship for a large amount of money.

8) Triple H (Royal Rumble 2002):
– Triple H returned from injury back in 2002 and won the Royal Rumble. Take a guess who was champion around this time? The first Undisputed WWF Champion, “Y2J”, Chris Jericho! Feuds taking place after the Royal Rumble were Triple H Vs. Kurt Angle and Chris Jericho Vs. Steve Austin. Stephanie McMahon at the time was escorting Chris Jericho to the ring with his two championships. Triple H went on to WrestleMania X8 to become Undisputed WWF champion. Triple H being champion lead to several aftermaths. One, removing Stephanie McMahon from the company. Plus the arrival of the World Heavyweight championship at a later date. Hulk Hogan also became champion after Triple H. WWF changed their WWF championship in to the WWE Undisputed championship once he held the strap.

1 2 3

About Author