At the end of August, WWE will host the Mae Young Classic, a 32-women wrestling tournament similar to last year’s successful Cruiserweight Classic and the United Kingdom Championship tournament earlier this year. Over the weekend, however, WWE taped the first four rounds of the classic at Full Sail Studios.

After the dust settled from Thursday and Friday’s taping, we were left with just two women in the finals of the first ever Mae Young Classic. The full tournament, which will be commentated by Hall of Famers Jim Ross, Lita, and Alundra Blayze, will air in full on the WWE Network on Aug. 28 with a Bracketology special airing right after Summerslam on Aug. 20.

The tournament will feature some of the most well-known and talented women’s wrestlers in the world and some of them will surely find their way to a WWE ring before it is all said and done.

**The rest of this article features spoilers for the Mae Young Classic**

There were some surprising upsets throughout the tournament with former TNA Knockout’s Champion Mia Yim fell in the second round to former UFC fighter Shayna Baszler. Speaking of Baszler, she was joined by former UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champion Ronda Rousey, Marina Shafir, and Jessamyn Duke. The four of these women make up the Four Horsewomen of MMA.

Baszler surprised everyone and ended up making into the final, where she will take on Kairi Sane, also known around the world as Kairi Hojo.

You can see the full results for the first four rounds below.

First Round

  • Princesa Sugehit over Kay Lee Ray
  • Serena Deeb over Vanessa Borne
  • Shayna Baszler over Zeda
  • Piper Niven over Santana Garrett
  • Mia Yim over Sarah Logan
  • Mercedes Martinez over Xia Li
  • Rhea Ripley over Miranda Salinas
  • Abbey Laith over Jazzy Gabert
  • Toni Storm over Ayesha Raymond
  • Dakota Kai over Kavita Devi
  • Candice LeRae over Renee Michelle
  • Rachel Evers over Marti Belle
  • Bianca BelAir over Sage Beckett
  • Lacey Evans over Taynara Conti
  • Nicole Savoy over Reina Gonzalez
  • Kairi Sane over Tessa Blanchard

Second Round

  • Abbey Laith def. Rachael Evers

    Piper Niven def. Serena Deeb

  • Mercedes Martinez def. Princesa Sugehit
  • Kairi Sane def. Bianca Belair
  • Toni Storm def. Lacey Evans
  • Shayna Baszler def. Mia Yim
  • Dakota Kai def. Rhea Ripley
  • Candice LeRae def. Nicole Savoy

Quarterfinal Round

  • Mercedes Martinez def. Abbey Laith
  • Shayna Baszler def. Candice LeRae
  • Toni Storm def. Piper Niven
  • Kairi Sane def. Dakota Kai

Semifinal Round

  • Shayna Baszler def. Mercedes Martinez
  • Kairi Sane def. Toni Storm

About Author